MONEY MAKING ONLINE – Part 3: Are You Thinking of Making Money Online?

A Personal Experience: How I Became an Author

I jot down whatever I gain from the book into my personal jotter, whenever I read any book. This is one of the sources of inspiration to write another best-selling book. My first book was ready in 2011, and all efforts to publish the book traditionally proved abortive.

I did not put in the sickle, I continued searching for how to publish it online, self-publishing, I did not even know it as Indie Publishing then. I read many authors, blogs, bloggers, and writers (their names would be mentioned later as I made reference to each of them in the course of this series on “Money Making Online”). I made mention of learning about other businesses here in my Guest post as a Millionaire’s Digest Team, Contributor, Blogging and Family & Life Writer:

https://millionairedigest.com/2017/07/26/5-things-you-need-to-learn-everyday-2-min-read/

I later discovered Self Publishing as an alternative to Traditional Publishing. As an author, the choice depends on you, either to self-publish your books or traditionally, or both ways. I discovered many platforms that you can use to do this, you can access it here: Platforms to Self-Publish Your Books.

MOney Making Online 2

  1. The first platform I used to self-publish my first book was CreateSpace. Click on this link to read: How to Self-Publish Your Books on CreateSpace.

Earlier, in Part 1 of these series, I have established that KDP helps you to sell more books in electronic format (eBooks) than any other platform, therefore you must publish your eBooks on KDP (KDP stands for Kindle Direct Publishing), this is because your eBook would be read on Kindle. CreateSpace publishes and sells Print Book (Paper Back), while KDP sells eBooks (It has inculcated Paper Back into its program recently).

If you first publish on CreateSpace, you can from there publish on KDP, because both are owned by the same Umbrella Company, Amazon. Amazon also owns ACX which produces Audio format (I may expatiate on this as the series continue if there is a need).

  1. You need a Blog to promote and market your books or any other product: A blog is a platform to loudly express yourself in order to impact this global village called the world. You may start a blog even if you do not have a product to sell, this is a non-monetized site. If you are impacting the world with your blog, many people will be visiting your sites, this visiting will result in a high traffic, and these readers will eventually become subscribers.

At this stage, even if you don’t want to monetize your sites, some companies may approach you to do business with you. Therefore, you need a blog. If you don’t have enough money to start a self-hosted website, for now, you can start a website hosted for you freely by WordPress, follow this link: How to Start a Free Website on WordPress.

Normally, to get a new website online, you will need two things: A Domain Name (a web address like yourblogname.com) and Hosting (a service that connects your site to the internet). You are supposed to pay for this two: Domain Name and Hosting. This is a self-hosted site, you pay to register your domain name, and you pay for a hosting. Platforms that can do the hosting for you include Bluehost, Hostgator, WPEngine, Siteground, etc.This is all that WordPress will do for you freely. It will host your site for you, that is why WordPress is going to be attached to your domain name, just because they are hosting it for you.

Mind you, the best thing is to self-host your site, so that it can be fully monetized immediately or later, and all the profits will go into your pocket. Money needs to be spent to make money!

  1. I have started my blog before I published my first book: By God’s grace, I have published three books and all of them are already generating royalties that I receive through direct deposit into my Payoneer Account, and I can cash right here in Nigeria.

The End Matters Most, authored by Peter Adewumi. (Print on Demand, eBook & Audio).

Attributes of Successful Employees by Peter Adewumi. (Print Book & eBook).

Virtues for Riches (Motivational Series) by Peter Adewumi (Paperback, eBook & AudioBook

 If you are already transacting a business online, and you are having a problem in receiving your money, try Payoneer through this link: Payoneer Account Opening.

There is a bonus for you and me thereafter!

Further resources and Readings on this Topic

MONEY MAKING ONLINE – Part 1: Are You Thinking of Making Money Online?

MONEY MAKING ONLINE – Part 2: Are You Thinking of Making Money Online?

How to Publish Your Book on CreateSpace

How to Publish Your Books on Smashwords

How to Design a Free Website on WordPress

What are Books? (2-min Read)

How did you go with this post? Leave a comment below and let us know what you have in mind.

Got a question you’ll like me or any of the expert readers to answer, you can use the Comment Box or “Contact Me” above for privacy. Please include your name, your blog name (if you have a blog), and then ask your question.

© 2017 Peter F. Adewumi

Photo Credit: Google Image Search and Pixabay

 

7 Replies to “MONEY MAKING ONLINE – Part 3: Are You Thinking of Making Money Online?”

Leave a Reply

