How I Lost My First Job

When I started this blog about a year ago, and I wrote that I would be sharing my experience about life, I know many people that saw my young face would say how old is he? What does he know? If I may tell you, I have passed through a lot.

          My dad kicked the bucket when I was barely 17 on Jan. 9, 1993.

          I lost my first job!

          I lost my second job!

          I lost my third job!

Let me just stop there for now. I am not here to share trials but testimony.

Now back to business, I mean back to the caption above. My first job was actually teaching, but I’m not going to talk about that now. The first job being referred to in the title is the one that is related to what I studied as an undergraduate in the college – Civil Engineering.

I was doing my work as usual in the nursery school where I teach. When I picked my phone to receive a call, the first thing I heard was, “Are you insane? You studied Civil Engineering and you are there collecting a peanut as a salary, and as a Nursery School Teacher.” That was my very good friend (I had many of them), he had found me a better job a week earlier, but passion would not let me leave my students for a greener pasture, it was December 2004. I wanted to, at least, finish that year with my pupils.

I went there to honor and heed his call. Mind you I still came back to the school, in order to fully resume in January 2005. The construction work was enormous, and all of us worked tirelessly and assiduously to make sure the ultimatum given was met. We actually finished the work by December of the same year, which is the stipulated time.

Site 6We continued the next phase in 2006, hoping that most of us that are very industrious would be confirmed as a full-fledged staff instead of contract staff. Then the bombshell was dropped, we were all summoned to a meeting, and the president told us that he had detected fraudulent practices in the management of the project, and we were all vilified. That was how we were all relieved of our job around June of 2006. (Can you believe I still went back to the same place in 2008 as the Block Moulding Site Engineer?)

I had never experienced such before, and I started strain at gnat. The experience was a bitter pill to swallow. I was just a Site Supervisor then, there was a Site Head. I cried endlessly because I have used all my strength and I have contributed the little I know as my own quota to the job. Look how depreciated I was in this picture:

Has your appointment been terminated unfairly? Are you disturbed thinking of what next to do? I want you to know that only vicissitude (change) is the most constant thing in the world. Termination of appointment is not a termination of life! It’s not an end in itself, it’s a means to an end. Maybe to force you to undertake one of the positive changes you need to experience in life.

I’m doing fine today by the grace of God! Have you read the story of a man that lost his job, and immediately after that, he discovered a product to sell? He became an entrepreneur, graduated to a business man, and became very wealthy.

Peace!

Photo Credit: Pixabay

© 2017 Peter F. Adewumi

Translation to Yoruba Language (One of the three prominent languages in Nigeria)

Bi Mo Se Padanu Ise Akoko Mi

Nigba ti mo bere lati maa se arojile apileko awon iriri mi ni bii odun kan seyin lorii ikanni yii, ti mo si ko pe, n o maa ko iriri mi nipa isele ninu aye yii, mo mo pe opolopo eniyan ni o maa bi ara won pe, nibga wo lo d’aye na? Kilo ju re tii ri? Ti o o ba gbo mi, oju mi ti ri die ninu aye yii.

Ekinni, n o tii pe omo odun metadinlogun ti baba mi fi ta teru nipa.

Ekeji, mo padanu ise mi akoko.

Eketa, mo tun padanu ise mi elekeji.

Ekerin, mo si tun padanu ise mi eleketa.

Je kii n danu duro nibe yen na. N o wa wi awijare loni, n o wa se atotonu Kankan, eri lati ran o lowo ninu irin ajo re ninu aye ni mo wa pin.

Nitooto, ise ti mo koko sese laaro ojo mi je Ise-Oluko, sugbon ona ibe yen ko ni mo fe gba lo loni. Ise akoko mi ti n o menu ba itan re loni je eyi toni se pelu ohun ti mo koko ka ni Ile-iwe giga – Eko nipa awon amojuero gbogbogbo (Civil Engineering).

Ni ojo ti mo n soro re yii, mo n ba ise mi lo ni Ile-Eko alakobere aladani ti mo tii n sise. Mo gbe ero alagbeka mi seti, ohun ti n o koko gbo ni pe, “Se nnkan o maa se e? O ko imo nipa awon amoju-ero mole-mole, o wa n sise nibi ti o ti n gba owo perete nibi ise oluko.” Ikan ninu awon ore mi timotimo lo n soro yii (Mo ni ore gidi to po), o ti ba mi rise ti o dara ni bii ose kan seyin, sugbon nitori pe mo feran ise oluko gan-an, n o kan fe da awon akeeko mi sile sa, nitori ise ti o m’owo wa ju ise oluko lo, eleyi to bii odun metala seyin. Bi n o ti e lo, mo fe ki won wa oluko mii fun awon omo kilaasi mi na.

Mo bo sona lojo keji, mo lo ri ore mi nibi ise na. Sugbon mo tun pada wa lati se aridaju pe won gba oluko ti o yanrannti fun awon omo mi, ki n to lo bere ise na. Ise ile kiko ni, ile naa si je eyi ti o tobi rapata, gbogbo awa amoju-ero ati amjutose fun ise na se aselaagun, a se ise karakara lati ri pe a pari ise naa ni akoko ti o ye. A si pari ise naa nib ii odun kan gerege.

Ni odun ti o tele, a tun bere ile nla miran, gbogbo awa ti a moju to ise na ti ni igbagbo pe a ti ri ise gidi. Sugbon lairo ti, adari ise naa pe gbogbo osise jo ni ojo kan, won si so fun wa pe, awon kudie-kudie kan n lo nibi ise na, laarin awon alamojuto. Lai fa oro gun, bi won se da gbogbo wa sile niyii (sugbon se ko nii ya o lenu ti mo ba ni, mo si pada lo se oga nibi ise naa leyin odun meji si idaniduro naa?)

Ka dani duro lenu ise je ohun ti ko tii sele simi ri ni akoko yii, o dun mi wonu egungun, mo si  bere si se kantan kantan. N o le gbagbo pe emi ni iru iriri bayi sele si. Nitooto, emi ko ni oga patapata, sugbon mo sa gbogbo ipa mi lati ko ipa temi ninu aseyori ise naa. Gbogbo ara ati emi mi ni mo fise ise naa, eleyi lomu ki o dun mi wonu egungun.

Iwo oluka akosile yii, n je o n je irora idaduro lenu ise bi? N je iporuru okan ba o nipa igbese ti o kan? Mo fe ki o mo daju pe, iyipada nikan ni ohun ti ko lee yi pada ninu aye yii. Didani duro lenu ise kii se lile kuro l’aye. Kii se opin aye eniyan rara, sugbon opin lati bere igbe aye otun ni. Boya eleyi sele si o, ki o le gbe igbese to ti ye koo gbe lati se aseyori siwaju sii ni.

Nipa oore ofe Olorun, bo tile je pe mo ti ni idaniduro ri, mo n tesiwaju ninu aseyori. N je o ti ka itan arakunrin kan ti o padanu ise re, sugbon ni kete leyin eyi, o se awari ara re, o si di onisowo nla eyi ti o l’owo yanturu, owo ti agbana ko l’ewo.

Alaafia fun o!

 

24 Replies to “How I Lost My First Job”

  1. Termination of appointment is not the termination of life. Beautifully said. I believe all the challenges we face during the phase, where we have to chose our carrier option, are all scripted by our destiny, and that too, for our good. Besides, it was really good to see your past photos! Good post, sir!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Failure is never final, until we accept it. The past is not a death sentence. As you pointed out, change is the most constant thing in life. Everyhing in life is liable to change. You came out strong eventually.Thanks for sharing this inspiring story. I am loving the Yoruba translation. How did you get good at it?

    Like

    1. Thanks a lot. I was actually good at Yoruba in my secondary school days, and when I was made the Associate Pastor of my church, I need to be interpreting most of the messages. Though I can write and speak Yoruba fluently, but I found it difficult to translate to Yoruba, because of where I work. We have a British principal, and as a Boarding School, we (especially I) do speak English all the time. Then I told my self I have to wake my Yoruba translation prowess up, and besides to reach out to many learned that love to read in their mother tongue – Yoruba Language. That was how I started, band also Google Translator is not 100% accurate when it comes to translating English to some languages, including Yoruba. Best regards!

      Like

    1. Thanks for reading, commenting, and the unflinching promise for my blog. I love the statement in your comment, “OUR GREATEST DISAPPOINTMENT CAN LEAD TO GOD’S GREATEST APPOINTMENT FOR US! WE ARE NEVER THE SUM OF OUR JOB TITLE! Thanks for the inspiring and motivational comment. Best regards! I’ll be visiting your site from time to time. The only challenge I have is this period of building my site, but I’ll try to fulfill my promise.

      Like

      1. No, thank you for writing an inspiring post! And no worries, it can be hard to make time to read every blog that follows you! But thank you for taking the time to check out my site 🙂 God bless!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

