4 Reasons Why You Have to Do It Now

What prompted me to putting up this article is because, as I was thinking on what topic to write, nothing was forth coming. Throughout last one year, I was almost writing everyday, and nothing happened, except that I wanted to fall sick at a particular time, and quickly observed a 1-week rest.

Recently, I resolved to writing one post per week (at most two), due to the nature of my work, and for the fact that my blog is full of posts that have made it to the-best-10 list. Comparing the two options, I found that the first option is better than the latter. Then, I achieved writing almost 250 posts in a year, just that I used to observe rest whenever I was stressed, and when it seems as if I was running out of idea, I visit the Daily Prompt, which really helped a lot.

Now, I write about 4 posts per month (which will amount to about 52 posts per year), and trying not to use the Daily Prompt, it’s still a kind of struggle and a hard work before I put up a post. Don’t you think it is better to go back to the first option? I think during my holiday period, I’ll make sure I post daily, and when I resume back to work, I’ll go back to posting one per week, though this gives me a hedge in visiting other blogs purposefully.

Then this post comes up while I was comparing the two options at my disposal in putting up my posts. I think this post will help in killing procrastination and its attendant tentacles in our lives.

Here are the 4 reasons why I think you have to do it now:

  1. ONE OF THE THINGS THAT CAN NEVER BE RECOVERED WHEN LOST IS TIME: We had a record that the moon stood still in one of the holy books, that is the only thing that can happen to time, it can be stopped, when it is stopped, it is being wasted, and that lost time can never be recovered. And if I may remind you, a wasted time is a wasted life.
  2. IF YOU DON’T START NOW, IT SAPS YOU OF YOUR ENERGY AND STRENGTH: You may ask why it is so. If you don’t do what you ought to do with an idea that first occurred, internally you’ll be mounting pressure on your brain for a better idea. Now think of it, if you procrastinate for, let’s say, 5 days. It means what you’re supposed to have finished in a day, was done in five days. Don’t you think mounting pressure on your brain will call for more blood with food nutrients and oxygen to the brain? This saps other parts of your body of their strength, and this will lead to stress and finally sickness.
  3. IT MAY BE OF HELP TO YOU LATER: In relating to the above story about my inner thoughts. I’ve written many posts, that when later read, I’d asked myself, “Was I the one that wrote this?” It was written under inspiration. This applies to every aspect of life, when you do the right thing as early as possible, whether convenient or not, it’s going to benefit you later.
  4. IT’LL GIVE YOU JOY THEREAFTER: I’ve learned a lot about ‘joy.’ I was made to know that. for you to be successful in any endeavor in life, joy is a fundamental requirement. You need to carry out every assignment with joy, that is when it can be fruitful. And it’s only when you’re not working or carrying out your assignment with or under a duress, you can have a true joy. I’ve read many of my write-ups, and I was filled with joy, not only because of the number of likes and comments, but also because I was one of the instruments that is privileged to affect the world positively in my own little way.

           now 2

© 2017 Peter F. Adewumi

Photo Credit: Pixabay

 

35 Replies to “4 Reasons Why You Have to Do It Now”

    1. Whoa! It’s a lot of responsibilities. Notwithstanding, you have to do it. Since you’ve started it, it is mandatory you finish the book, it’s going to be a plus later in life and beyond. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I may never be successful Peter with this worlds Agenda but I know we are in God’s when we follow His Leading and not just the Worlds promptings.

    If nobody reads our Posts He will and He also sends those whom He wants to speak to through His inspired Words that we share and He sends me to also read what others Post so I can be Encouraged and Uplifted and to respond with Encouragement and also with His Truth if correction is needed.

    I’m Dyslectic and writing for me is very hard but when Posting and Commenting it just flows and the Scripture when needed does too but yes I’m still a cracked vessel and I make spelling and punctuation mistakes etc but God is the Super Glue and I’m also thankful to Him for Firefox spelling corrections and other helps too.

    To be honest I never set a time on what and when I Post, when it comes I Post but like with you Peter, God sometimes motivates me and prepares me for the Topic days before and sometimes even a week or more.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This very powerful message to me and others is much appreciated. God has really poured it out of you. That is how it comes fine when we depend on him solely, but when try to do it in order to take the glory, then we are stuck. Thanks so much. I pray that God in His infinite mercy shall continue to be with you and continue to use you as a powerful instrument in His hands. Meanwhile based on the likes, I agree with you that it is not a total pointer to the success of a post. But I think when you want to teach a set of learners some things, I suggest a good teacher should know the kind of positive reinforcement to employ to make learning take place. Best wishes and regards.

      Like

    1. Thanks ‘OldNaija.’ Your blog is a powerful blog and an instrument to make this country clean in and out. Just wait and see, it’s all about time. Thanks for visiting and reading, Master Teslim. No matter what, do keep on blogging and succeeding.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Peter,

    great reasons. Number one is my favorite,because we have only “NOW”,not tomorrow, not yesterday ,just “NOW”. When someone spend some time on me, I know that he gave me the most valuable things .Time ! Thank you

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks. You too! I’m trying to surround myself with the right people. I look forward to your posts. Will read more when I’m not at work lol

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so true esp about the joy it gives

    .I used to write just once a while too but in trying to write everyday now starting from this November, it’s been awesome, some ideas I’d have neglected are even the ones more liked. Thanks for this post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

